Customer Reviews

Based on 64 reviews
81%
(52)
11%
(7)
5%
(3)
0%
(0)
3%
(2)
2019 Infiniti QX60 CarPlay

I installed the Infiniti CarPlay unit back in January of 2021 and have been using the system ever since. Recently, I damaged the USB cable and contacted UNAVI for support with this specialty cable. They not only gave me the cable, but also the USB mount conversion free of charge to prevent reoccurrence, as long as I paid for shipping. Great customer service and would recommend to anyone.

Great

To say the least, frustrating that I had to install something like this in a 2020 Infiniti. Was shocked the qx60 didn’t have CarPlay. After searching and reading reviews I bought this unit. I paid for 3 day shipping and got it right on time. Excellent on shipping.

They send you so many install videos and links which helps for sure. It was for sure a tough install , I did it myself. Tough isn’t the right word just complex and maybe more than someone should bite off. So far it’s great. Good sound. Good quality. Would give it 5 starts but holding one back because I wish some of the harnesses gave me some more slack. Had to fight a few wires.

Thriving Q60

Big thanks to Pedro for hooking me and my Q60. Pedro went above and beyond to keep me happy. He installed carplay and camera and through in other bonuses. I am extremely pleased and if course very much recommend. Thank you!!!

Great aftermarket item

Great aftermarket item!! I couldn’t be happier with the product in the way that it works. I have a Nissan 2020 pathfinder rock creek edition. Everything about this vehicle is perfect except for the fact that Nissan decided not to put Apple CarPlay in the Pathfinders. But with this aftermarket Apple CarPlay, you wouldn’t even know that it didn’t come with it. I’m super happy. Everyone at you Unavi is so friendly and so nice. I’ve called twice to ask some questions and they were so helpful and so willing to answer all my questions. If you don’t have this item in your vehicle and you don’t have Apple CarPlay, then you need to buy it!

Bringing a 2020 Infinity QX60 into the 21st century

after buying a leftover 2020 QX60 i discovered that my KIA's were more technologically advanced than the brand new QX60 I purchased... SO...Searched for an answer to provide me with car-play capabilities in my new luxury ride.... (yeah this shouldn't be a thing but it is - Infinity is finally getting on the ball and onboard with the actual data assistants people use and want - ie they are finally putting car play in their vehicles (just not mine) So that left me with the Ol' interwebs and a trusty Google search... Found a few offerings but the Uni-Nav system stuck out as it maintains the look of the interior and functionality of the original system - as well as the ability to return to factory should you choose..... Uni-Nav customer service and responsiveness were 2nd to no one and they offered any help I may need to find an installer on the east coast. Turns out the tutorials and instructions are very comprehensive and installation was achieved with no problems - couldn't be happier unless it was included when I bought the car... Q/Q

First install - not as scary as the 51 pages of instructions might infer…

It works, just a bit wonky I would say. Switching screens back and forth seems to have randomly varying speed. It would be nice if the audio was integrated into the OEM sound and also had wireless capability.
The install was smooth, but it would have helped if the video dash disassembly has some semblance of relevance to a Pathfinder. I figured it out. The rest of it was okay vis a vis the hookups and routing. The DCU video was spot on as far as adding the 2 boards.
If you’re doing this for a customer or dealership…or even yourself…definitely do the USB cig lighter extension. It makes for a much more professional finish.

Misrepresented product

Buried in the fine print was fact that product did not work on cars with navigation. So that sucked. Tried to use authorized installer but did not get a call back for 25 hours during which time I hired someone else who also did not catch the fine print 8 point font statement that this product did not work with all models. Anyway, whatever. $200 restocking fee, wasted $200 at installer; shipping return costs and a week or so of my life. So basically don’t represent it works on my car without putting an asterisk in that statement. It is a negligent misrepresentation. Good luck.

Hello David,

We truly apologize that the product compatibility was not clear enough. The purpose of this product is to add navigation if your vehicle did not come with a navigation. As you mentioned, since your vehicle already came with a navigation, this product is not meant to work for your vehicle. We strive to be clear as possible mentioning 'Monochrome Display' under product selection, and with a photo of the vehicle screen we are compatible with on our product page. To be more clear moving forward, we will update our product page. Moreover, we are more than happy to assist you the installer search process. Please feel free to reach out to our customer support team to assist you with the installer search process. As for the restocking fee, our customer support team will be in contact with you shortly. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it makes us do things better. Thank you.

Apple Car Play like Oem!

Awesome customer service! Great product! Would recommend highly!

Nice product fully integrated in Q50 existing system

Definitely a good to have in your Q50. Easy to install and fully reliable to bring CARPLAY to your Q50

Great Product to update your car

Great product. Easy to install. Full operational CARPLAY

CarPlay seems to work, yay!

Installed myself, which was pretty hard (granted, I am not particularly handy). Surprisingly, everything just worked on the first try. I didn't drive around a lot yet, so can't comment on long-term quality, but first impressions are great.

Overall, I would highly recommend this module over the other stuff out there.

I’ve had the Carplay/Android Auto module for my Q50 for a few months now, and it’s great! Everything works perfectly, there is no lag (none more than the OEM system anyways), and the sound quality is great. I show off the AA feature on my video, but I’ve tried Carplay as well and it works flawlessly too. For the DIY-ers, the installation is very similar to other modules on the market. Functionality wise, there’s not much to say. If you’ve used AA/Carplay before, it’s just like that. Siri and google assistant work flawlessly as well. The audio output is AUX, which I was a little iffy about at first, but their wiring does a good job at reducing noise, so for me it sounds just as good as Bluetooth.

The tiny speaker that goes behind the top screen does not sound good at all, but I personally have never used it intentionally (see cons for more on this). All my audio and calls go through the car speakers, but I do connect my phone via Bluetooth for calls to my car, so maybe that’s why. The module allows for this without breaking any of the experience, and you can launch calls this way either using the module or the OEM car system.

Overall, I would highly recommend this module over the other stuff out there.

I have the very first version of this module, which is touchscreen only. All the OEM functions for the OEM system are preserved, but you can’t use the rotary knob or steering wheel controls with AA/Carplay. The new recent module FIXES this. I haven’t gotten it yet, but I know people who have, and they say that it works perfectly fine, with both the center console controls and the steering wheel controls. I’ll probably upload another video of this once I get mine.

Lastly, customer service with UNAVI is top notch. Their US team has been very responsive and helpful with all my questions. When I complained about the lack of physical control usability, they put me in touch with the Korean team directly who have now released a whole new module addressing this within a couple of weeks. Not to mention that they apparently work with Infiniti of Korea, so these products are pretty well tested and tried with Korean consumers.

The pros for me over other modules:
-It uses the car’s OEM hardware for all audio (except for that tiny speaker I talk about above). No need to install some questionable quality microphone or have some random cheap control wheel sticking out of the dash.
-It works very seamlessly. I don’t have to do any weird boot up or worry about crashes. You just plug in your phone and you’re good to go.
-Customer service is great! They really seem determined to back up their products. Their headquarters in CA just makes this process so much easier too.
-It utilizes the top screen, which is great since it’s basically useless in the OEM system. The bottom screen works just like normal and is unaffected.
-Overall, it just works like any other OEM AA/Carplay from other cars. There’s no weird work-around or anything.

Cons:
-Every now and then, at startup, the module starts playing music off of the tiny speaker. This is a default when you select your audio source other than AUX while still trying to play music with the module. Twice now, it has played from the tiny speaker even though I set my audio source to AUX. This seems like it’s an issue with the car system not switching correctly, but all I’ve had to do is switch to radio and then back to AUX, which fixes it. I’ve only had it happen twice and it’s just a mild nuisance.

VERY happy with their service and their product

I saw this company on an Internet forum. Did some research, and while they had a sale, decided to get in on the good deal. They did not disappoint! The product itself was a great addition to the vehicle. They were also very friendly and professional. I was in-and-out within an hour! VERY happy with their service and their product!

Very Happy with the overall deal and service

Contacted Unavi to find out if they had an Apple carplay unit for my 2017 Mercedes C300, Wow what service, not only did they have a unit but they came out to my home to fit it. Works flawlessly, fully integrated with Existing MB controls in car. Mercedes do not offer this on older models but Unavi came through. I am Very Happy with the overall deal and service - ask for Pedro!

Couldn’t be happier!!

Had the install completed at Texas Audio Customs in Garland, TX. Everything working fine…had 1 hic-up after car was sitting in the sun for a few hours next day after the install…unit came on fine….then about 10 min into the drive, upper (CarPlay) screen went blank. Pressing the back button on the steering wheel did NOTHING. Parked it and tried the next morning and was fine and the hic-up hasn’t returned..,.

Great addition to factory head unit

Works great. Been dying for carplay for 3 years; glad unavi could deliver. The unit is responsive but it's not perfect. 1. When you plug your iphone in the audio connection may need to be reset or sound will barely come through. I just go into Audio and switch between AUX and ipod or vice versa to correct the sound. 2. The usb cable is too short. I wish they would have made it 1-2 feet longer so the installer could have positioned it better. 3. When you want to skip a song, you have to push down instead of up on the steering wheel which is the opposite of how it should be. However, these are all minor issues. I'm extremely satisfied with the unit. Thank Unavi!

Hello Tai, thank you for bringing up your concerns to us. We'd like to share a few words on how the product operates. For concern #1, the vehicle must be on AUX setting for our CarPlay to play through the factory speaker. If the vehicle is set to other sound sources(i.e. FM, AM, SXM etc.), CarPlay is designed to played through the small speaker that comes with our CarPlay product. Just make sure that your vehicle is set to AUX to hear CarPlay loud and clear! As for concern #3, we are currently in the process of updating it. We will be more than happy to provide the software update once we release it-- just let us know. Lastly, we recommend using a longer USB charging cable to connect your phone, which will allow better maneuver. FYI, you could also convert the cigarette lighter to a USB outlet, and connect your phone there via USB charging cable for a more OEM look. You would need to use a product like this: https://unavi-usa.com/products/usb-mount-conversion-extension-cable-for-carplay. We thank you again for your feedback, as all feedback gives an opportunity to do things better. Always feel free to let us know if you have any questions!

Car play for QX60 2019

I highly recommend. Very very close to factory. Everything works great. Touch screen / voice controls - can even forward / reserve songs with steering wheel controls. Easy to switch between factory controls and apple play.

The company that installed it had not done this brand before. They had no issues and instructions Unavi sent were thorough. They did comment that it was more intense than other brands, but also a lot better quality.

Great customer service

From the purchase to my self install customer service was top notch. Answering all questions walking me through updating system.

Excellent, as expected !

We install plenty UNAVi pieces and they never disappoint. Excellent product, every time.

Love it

Finally Apple CarPlay in my Inifinti! I went to one of the Unavi dealers and the install was quick. I truly enjoy it so far. The only things I notice is a small delay with the back up camera sometimes. The Apple car play has its own speaker and sometimes that plays my music while the speakers play my music. When that happens I plug out my phone and plug it back in and it starts working. Those are the only flaws I’ve noticed within the month of having it. I love it so much I don’t mind the small issues. I recommend!!

Hello Shanice, we are glad to hear that you are enjoying our product! Our current product has a one or two second delay when backup camera is activated. During that time, the system is switching to the OEM side(in other words, the software side the vehicle came equipped with). We have noted your concern and will have our product development team work on making this switch seamless. As for the speakers, the vehicle must be on AUX setting for our CarPlay to play through the factory speaker. If the vehicle is set to other sound sources(i.e. FM, AM, SXM etc.), CarPlay is designed to played through the small speaker that comes with our CarPlay product. Just make sure that your vehicle is set to AUX to hear CarPlay loud and clear! We truly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to us, and always feel free to reach out to us with any questions. Thank you.

Great product but needs wireless adapter.

I only have for stars because when I have my phone plugged in to it and I play music from my phone it only comes through the little Unavi speaker and the fact that you have to plug your phone into it for it to work, with your phone plugged into it it is constantly charging the phone battery and when the battery gets full charge the phone starts getting hot like it's cooking your phone. Really need a wireless adapter!

Hello David,

We apologize that our product didn't fully meet your expectations. We wanted to share a few things that will help resolve your concerns. Regarding the speaker, you can have your phone music come out of the OEM factory speaker by changing media source to AUX mode. As for the phone getting too hot, there's been reporting that CarPlays in general whether that be wireless or wired, OEM or aftermarket units, to heat up quite a bit(especially when running many apps simultaneously). We recommend avoiding direct sunlight on the phone when using CarPlay to mitigate the heating issue. Lastly, we are looking into developing wireless CarPlay products. At this time, we believe wireless connections generally are less stable. We have tested other aftermarket wireless adapters currently sold in the market, and found issues such as: lagging, random disconnects, phone battery consumed too quickly etc. We will continue to test wireless CarPlay stability issues, and launch after the aforementioned issues are fully resolved.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feel free to contact us if you have any questions or concerns!

Follow up to last review

Had some trouble with the unit when we first got it and things are relatively smooth now. I will say that the UNAVI customer service is excellent and that they have been bending over backwards to help get everything resolved.

Hello Keith, we truly hope you enjoy the product! Feel free to contact us anytime if you have any further questions or concerns. Thank you.

Works great for 2020 Nissan Pathfinder

I really like this product, it works great and better than my original Pathfinder 2020 navigation and bluetooth system. I just wish we could use more of the controls on the dash with it but otherwise no complaints!

UNAVI UGD621 | 2 Channel Dash Cam | 2K QHD | Built-in Wi-Fi | GPS Compatible | 32 GB SD Card

x

×

Call for Price

I agree to my email being stored and used to receive the newsletter.